What you need to remember is this: Only owners may permanently delete an object or folder (which eliminates it from someone else’s My Drive); everyone else is simply deleting it from their own view (aka, My Drive).
This action is not the same as copying an item; it is more akin to creating a Unix hard connection (except that in Drive, both items keep the same name, and deleting the item that you own in one place deletes it everywhere). Copying an item and transferring the copy to another location is preferable to adding an item because copying produces two copies of the item, negating the collaborative cloud advantage (everyone collaborating on the same version from anywhere). Adding an item creates a single version of the item that can be shared through several files (all added items point to the same item/source).
People who have exchanged the item should be aware that removing an added item from one location removes it from all locations. If you don’t own the object, you’ll only be able to delete it from your My Drive, not from anyone else’s. If you own an object, it will be removed from everyone’s My Drive. You can, however, recover it from Trash.
Before we get started, there’s something you should know. With me, there is no way to organize Shared. It does not allow you to build files or pass things around. Some of you might be feeling discouraged at this stage, but hang in there with me and keep reading!
I accept that Shared with Me is messy and exhausting for those of us who prefer things to be organized and filed away neatly. The trick to dealing with this is to spend as little time there as possible rather than trying to organize it (because, as we all know, you can’t!).
You can organize your My Drive, unlike Shared with me. Adding the shared files and folders you use most to your My Drive is one of the simplest ways to avoid spending too much time in Shared with me. You can then organize them into your own folder structure.
The file/folder will still be in Shared with me after you do this, but it will also be in your My Drive. This means you won’t have to go to Shared with me to get it anymore. This approach, however, does not function for files stored in Shared Drives (Team Drives), even if they are visible in Shared with me. It is not possible to connect files from a shared drive to My Drive. If you’re viewing your files in list view, the little padlock icon to the right of the file name indicates which ones are in Shared Drives.
So far, I’ve realized that if I uninstall the folder with my previous permissions, it would be deleted or at the very least moved to Trash for all collaborators. As a result, I attempted to delete it by going to the “share with” menu and deleting my permissions. As a result, I’m no longer mentioned among the editors, but the folder remains in my filesystem and is still searchable.
To change the sharing options, right-click the folder. First, I transferred the file’s ownership to someone else on the network, someone who had previously worked as an editor. The change was saved, and I became an editor as a result.
Users cannot delete themselves from a file or folder shared with them when the file or folder is shared using their individual email address at this time, but they may remove the file or folder from their “My Drive” account.
I’m new to this and am now using the free version. One thing I don’t understand is why shared files that don’t belong to me take up space on my space allocation. Why do they take up room for me (and everyone else shared them with) if they aren’t my files? That appears to be charging multiple times for the same file that is only in one location (the shared user’s area).
Since each member of a shared folder has the ability to add and change files in it, the shared folder takes up space in each member’s account. This policy exists to prevent people from piling Basic accounts and shared files to give themselves unlimited space.
Contains a spoiler (Highlight to read)
Your Dropbox limit is determined in general based on the total amount of content in your account, including shared files. As a result, a Dropbox account can only sync up to its quota; for example, a 2 GB account can only sync up to 2 GB. Your Dropbox limit is determined in general based on the total amount of content in your account, including shared files. As a result, a Dropbox account can only sync up to its quota; for example, a 2 GB account can only sync up to 2 GB.