How long does it take to delete a user account mac

How long does it take to delete a user account mac

How to delete a user account on mac

You must still have access to a secondary administrator account on your Mac computer in order to disable an administrator. The person will no longer be able to log in to the Mac after you uninstall an admin account. However, if you want to save the admin’s home folder, you can restore their profile in the future. Here’s what you need to hear about it.
Take a look at the following items listed in this article:
Apple MacBook Pro (starting at $1,299.99 at Best Buy)
How can you get rid of an admin account on your Mac?
1. From your Mac’s home screen, go to the bottom menu and choose System Preferences, or use Spotlight to find it.
2. Find Users & Groups after you’ve launched Device Preferences.
7. Choose a choice from the pop-up menu. Select “Save the home folder in a disk image” to save the admin’s home folder and have their details restored in the future. Select “Delete the home folder” if you want the admin’s details to be completely erased. After you’ve made your choice, press Delete User.

How to delete an administrator user account on mac® os x

You can’t reset or shut down the computer using the usual shutdown procedure while the protected user deletion process is running – System Preferences will cancel the shutdown and won’t let you close it either.
You’ll need sudo rights, which means you’ll need to be logged in as an administrator. This command will reboot the system, bypassing the usual shutdown check. You can note that the user has been removed from the users and groups list in System Preferences after the reboot, but that the user’s files remain. You’ll have to manually dispose of them in this situation. You can do this in the terminal with a command like the one below. BE CAREFUL to just remove the files of the previous user, as this bypasses the trash and deletes all in a recursive manner, beginning with the folder you specify.
This isn’t a stable delete, but if you want to do a better job than a simple delete without having to wait for each file to be overwritten 35 times, use the following command to fill the drive’s free space with random data or zeros:

How to delete user account on macbook : mac os

Salutations:

How to delete and create user accounts on mac yosemite

I’m trying to uninstall a user account. After around 2 hours, System Preferences keeps telling me that the deletion is in progress. I chose to build a dmg file from a backup of the files. When it comes to deleting an account, how long does it take? Thank you.
Users & Groups are shown on the Device Preferences screen. The account in question has the following message: Deleting Account. I get the following message every time I try to close the Users & Groups screen: “System Preferences is unable to be closed because it is currently in use. Removing a user account and saving the Home directory to a disk image are two options in the Users & Groups preferences.” Deleted Users is a subfolder in the Mactintosh HD Users folder. In the sub-folder, there is a dmg named with the name of the account I’m deleting. When I open that folder, I can see all of the data from the previous user account.
Users & Groups are shown on the System Preferences screen. The account in question has the following message: Deleting Account. I get the following message every time I try to close the Users & Groups screen: “System Preferences is unable to be closed because it is currently in use. Removing a user account and saving the Home directory to a disk image are two options in the Users & Groups preferences.” Deleted Users is a subfolder in the Mactintosh HD Users folder. In the sub-folder, there is a dmg named with the name of the account I’m deleting. When I open that folder, I can see all of the data from the previous user account.

How to delete user accounts on mac os

Hey, I’m cleaning up my mac to sell secondhand, but I misplaced my disk, so I’m using the “build a new admin account and uninstall the old one” trick, so most of my files (about 20GB) were connected to that account rather than the machine itself. However, it’s been incredibly busy for the past hour, and I’m not sure how much longer it’s going to take. Is there any danger in forcing a leave and trying again if it’s not expected to take this long? 2 responses 50 percentsavehidereportsavehidereportsavehidereportsa Voted up This discussion has been ended. There are no new comments or votes that can be made. Sort by the strongest.

About the author

admin

View all posts