Checkin and checkout
Check in check out video tutorial: educational behavior
As a result, the “Check out” and “Check in” feature is what helps them with it. User1 checks out the document before starting to edit it. So, for the device, it’s a signal that this document is actually “busy.” After that, user1 checks in the text, and all of the changes he or she has made are now available to user2.
For example, if two users begin editing a document at the same time and user1 checks in the document one minute before user2, user2 will receive a notification that his copy is out of date and that he or she must make a new copy before committing changes to the document.
I’ll do better than tell you what they mean because this is a very, really simple question, and you’ve marked your question with “certification,” and it looks like you’re trying to answer a test question somewhere. I’ll guide you to the P8 documentation, where you can find answers to questions like this and many others in a reasonable amount of time:
Check out a file on a website if you want to make changes to it and make sure no one else can edit it. You can edit the file online or offline, and save it—multiple times if necessary—once it’s checked out.
Other people will see the changes and update the file if they have permission after you finish editing and check the file back into the library. You may also discard your checkout if you decide not to make or retain any changes to the file, ensuring the version history is maintained.
Tip: If you want to edit an Office document with someone at the same time (also known as co-authoring), don’t check it out. Simply open it and make adjustments. But, just in case anyone makes a mistake later and you need to restore an earlier version of the text, we suggest turning on versioning for the library first. See Document collaboration and co-authoring for more detail on co-authoring.
Some libraries have files that must be checked out. You’ll be prompted to check out any files you want to edit if checkout is needed. You must either check the file back in or discard the checkout when you are done with it.
Any change is automatically recorded with a document check in/out method. People will function confidently because they know their improvements won’t be overwritten, misplaced, or erased. Multiple users can work on and update the same document at the same time using document check in / check out software, eliminating the need to email changes or save multiple files in different locations.
Revision control captures the most recent updates and increments a new file version as documents are checked in. The framework saves all previous versions as well. Users can monitor the status of documents to see whether they’re being worked on or whether they’re ready to edit.
Checking in and out of documents can be done directly from inside Microsoft Windows or through the Web browser companion gui. When you check out a file, it opens in its native application right away.
Many document management systems, like SharePoint, use the words check-in and check-out. Their aim is to avoid disputes in circumstances where several people try to make adjustments to the same piece of content (in SharePoint, list items or files) at the same time. The process of adding a new or updated item or file to a document library or a list to replace the previous version is known as check-in. The method of getting a version of a document or list object from a list or library is referred to as check-out. A consumer can prevent anyone from editing content by checking out an object or a file. By checking in an object, the user will allow others to edit the content without having to worry about other people’s changes overriding theirs.
When a user checks out an item or a file, the user has exclusive access to that item or file, while other users do not. Until they can edit the item or file, other users must wait for the user to check it in again (that is, perform a check-in). Other users will normally only see the last version that was checked in while the object or file is checked out; they can’t see the updates that the current user has made to the file while it’s checked out.